The Angry Panda’s back today with another tutorial for you guys to follow up on. If you were distracted by my profile picture of an snarling panda ready to rend his next victim, then you’ll be pleasantly surprised to see that the recipe I’ve chosen to tell you guys about is one of the most refreshing drinks I’ve ever had: Passion Fruit Green Tea.

Being this is my first recipe blog post, I wanted to start off with something really really easy that with the right stuff, anyone can do. Especially if you’re a fan of bubble tea.

I learned this over the winter break tinkering with random things within my mom’s pantry, where I found tons of tea variety packets.Personally, I’m sickly in love with green tea; I have a cup every morning before I head to class. There are a ton of varieties I’ve used over the years, but my favorite ones are the tea leaves exported from Japan. Specifically the matcha green tea powders. They always do the job.

Oddly enough, while scavenging through the cabinets I came across some passion fruit syrup. Passion fruit is one of my favored fruits; it’s tangy yet has a odd sweetness that’s perfect in purees. My least favorite fruit is the banana because it tastes like ass, but it’s tolerable when cooked. I’ll explore my disdain for bananas in the future at some point.

After some experimentation and disregard for personal safety, I managed to create something that actually tasted pretty decent. Here’s the details on how to make your own passion fruit green tea at home.

passion-fruit


Passion Fruit Green Tea Recipe

Ingredients (Makes 18oz):

  • 3 Green Tea Bags, preferably matcha or something strong (I used this one.)
  • 1/3 of a cup of Passion Fruit syrup (you can add more depending on taste, but highly recommend you only add 1/3; it’s very sweet. I used this brand.)
  • Optional: tapioca balls; measure and use to your own liking
  1. Brew Green Tea for 8-10 minutes until it’s strongly brewed. Depending on the tea you are using, it might take longer or shorter then expected. Make sure to taste until bitter or very bitter. Don’t worry if it’s too bitter for your taste, the passion fruit syrup will balance out with its sweetness.
  2. Remove green tea packets and chill the green tea. Do not chill with ice; it will melt down and ruin the consistency of the tea. Chill in refrigerator.
  3. After being chilled, place green tea and passion fruit syrup into a cocktail mixer (or anything that can heavily mix the two together without making a mess), and begin to shake until fully mixed. Serve cold over or without ice.
  4. (Optional) bring water to a boil. Add tapioca balls. Wait 4-5 minutes until they fully raise to the surface. Remove from boiling water and chill. Add to chilled tea and enjoy

And that’s it! Try it out at home alone, impress your friends, or just drink it after a long day of eating bamboo and chewing on the remains of your caretakers. Let me know in the comments how you like it, and enjoy!

 

 

